The text interrogates our relationship to location, its sonority and making sense of what is heard. It discusses different artistic approaches to these themes through conversations with various artists, such as Brane Zorman, Irena Pivka, Luka Prinčič, Manja Ristić and Petra Kapš (OR poiesis). It explores CONA‘s work in the Slovenian sound art and music-composition scene, especially for its in-depth relationship to the place of listening and the way the body moves in time and space when listening. The location of sound not only informs us about the ecological conditions of a place but also gives it political and social belonging.

The activities of the Acoustic Commons network for live environmental streams draw attention to the unique sounds of particular places and explore the acoustic ecology of bio-anthropogenic locations. The network connects sound ecologists, live streamers, sound artists and experimental musicians who reflect in various ways upon the role of sonic explorations in promoting biocentric thinking that rejects the primacy of human rights and needs over those of other living and nonliving beings such as birds, spiders, trees or stones. Attentive listening goes beyond the notion that music is purely a human activity and opens the ears to sonic structures that may inform human culture in becoming more inclusive of nonhuman entities. Indeed, acoustic sensitivity is one piece of the puzzle in raising awareness and helping prevent numerous sound-sensitive creatures from declining into extinction.

Link to the volume in PDF format.

The booklet was created as part of the Acoustic Commons project. Listen to the sound adaptation in French created as part of the final exhibition of the Acoustically Common project in Aix-en-Provence, France at the Cona Institute site.

Title: Exercises in Listening to the Inaudible Credits
Text: Ida Hiršenfelder (beepblip)
English editing and proofreading: Jana Renée Wilcoxen
Translation into Slovenian and proofreading: Melita Silič
Cover image: Ida Hiršenfelder (beepblip)
Editor: Irena Pivka
Design: Matej Tomažin
Publisher: Cona, zavod za procesiranje sodobne umetnosti, Ljubljana, 2022
Book collection: Steklenik 2021/22 / 3
Print run: 300 copies
ISBN 978-961-92677-3-8

Not for sale.
The programme of CONA is supported by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Slovenia and the Municipality of Ljubljana’s Department for Culture.
The text by Ida Hiršenfelder was written for the Acoustic Commons network and published in a Steklenik Gallery booklet.
Made available in pdf format at, on 1 January 2023.
© CONA 2022. All rights reserved.